Minutes of the December 7, 2017 KCRSPA General Meeting

The meeting was convened at 11:38 a.m. at the Chester River Yacht and Country Club in Chestertown, MD. 27 members and 5 guests attended. We said the Pledge of Allegiance.

Fay Miller, President of the MRSPA spoke about the joys of being president. She introduced: Lorraine Johnson from Prince George's County, who is the MRSPA Vice President Dr. Debbie Chance from Talbot County, who is Area III North Coordinator Beverly York, Area III South Director Wanda Twigg, from St. Mary's County who is MRSPA Executive Director

Director Twig thanked KCRSPA for our members who are on state committees – Betty Barbe who is on the state Legislative Committee and Nancy Harrington who is on the state Bylaws Committee.

Membership Chairman, Nancy Harrington introduced new member, Dale Atkinson. She also welcomed new member, William Flook, who was not present. Nancy expressed sorrow about the passing of our member, Miriam Niskey. Nancy also informed us that the 2018 -2019 KCRSPA Directory is available today and invited everyone to take one.

President Jean Wright announced that Sue Coleman is the new KCRSPA Sunshine Chairman.

Billie Lynne Roberts, Community Service Chairperson, reminded us that KCRSPA will be nominating members for the MRSPA Community Service Award, the Maryland Senior Citizen Hall of Fame and other state community service awards. Please let her know if you have any suggestions for nominees or if you would like to be a nominee. Billie Lynne also appealed for members who would like to help on the Community Service Committee.

Billie Lynne Roberts, who is also the Scholarship Committee Chairman, announced that Sue Crooks, Brenda Shorter, and Charlotte Potts are also members of the Scholarship Committee. All members are encouraged to contribute to the Scholarship Fund.

Billie Lynne announced that the Lions Club will be filling and delivering Christmas food baskets to local families on December 11, 2017. Those who would like to participate should meet at the Kent County Community Center at 9 a.m. Deliveries will begin at 11:30 a.m.

MRSPA Executive Director Wanda Twigg encouraged us to visit the Maryland Retired School Personnel Facebook page and the MRSPA website at MRSPA.org. Pay attention particularly to the legislative update. The legislative session begins on January 11, 2018. Be sure to pay attention to those running for state offices. Ask candidates where they stand on protecting our defined benefit pension.

Jean Wright presented Fay Miller with a present from KCRSPA to honor her service as state president.

Betty Barbe, Legislative Committee Chairman and member of the state legislative committee announced that the state legislative committee will meet every other week during the legislative session in order to monitor legislators.

Kathy Clark was not in attendance at today's meeting but she left a sign-up sheet for those wishing to volunteer to read at elementary schools on Dr. Seuss Day.

We were reminded that there is a state scholarship for school system employees who are pursuing further education in order to achieve teaching certification. If you know of an employee who qualifies, please let them know about the scholarship.

We had a Chinese Auction before, during and after our delicious lunch.

The meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Terri Bostic Secretary