Minutes from the June 5, 2014 KCRSPA General Meeting

The June 5, 2014 KCRSPA general meeting was held at the Fish Whistle in Chestertown, MD. 29 people were present including 8 guests: Bill Sutton, Bob Freeman, Susan Nickerson, John Foreman, Judith Zahren, Executive Director of MRSPA, Stuart Tucker, President of MRSPA, and Max Muller, future President of MRSPA and Ellen Chamberlin, 2013 - 2014 Kent County Teacher of the Year.

President Nancy Harrington called the meeting to order at 11:35. She began the meeting by introducing Ellen Chamberlin, 2013 – 2014 Kent County Teacher of the Year. Ellen then spoke to us about the experience of applying for and being teacher of the year. She spoke of the pleasure she has taken in teaching Kent County students on both the middle school and elementary school levels. She was pleased to report that the state superintendent sought out the advice of the teachers of the year from the counties. She expressed her wish that the local superintendent would seek input from the local teacher of the year.

The members read a poem in memory of our members who had passed away this past year: Grace Ann Beckwith, Robinette Johnson, Doris Jones, Carrie Schreiber, and Ann W. Sutton. May they rest in peace. Nancy presented a gift in memory of Ann Sutton to Susan Nickerson, Ann Sutton's daughter, and Bill Sutton, Ann Sutton's widower.

After a delicious lunch, President Nancy Harrington resumed the general meeting at 12:45.

Billie Lynn Roberts, the chair of the Scholarship Committee, reported that we awarded two \$1200 scholarships this year. The recipients were Kirsten Moore, who will be attending Washington College, and Emily Voshell, who will be attending Bloomsburg University in Bloomsburg, PA. Both recipients are dedicated to becoming educators.

Billie Lynn Roberts, the chair of the Community Services Committee, reported that Margie Baker received the AARP Community Service Award for Maryland. Billie Lynn awarded Margie a framed certificate and a pin from the state AARP. Billie Lynn also reported that Margie Baker will be inducted into the Maryland Senior Citizen Hall of Fame. Billie Lynn read an excerpt from a letter written by Bea Fenner in which Bea praised Margie's devoted efforts to help those in need in our local community. Stuart Tucker, President of the MRSPA, and also a member of the Maryland Senior Citizen Hall of Fame Committee, encouraged us to send ten of our members to the Maryland Senior Citizen Hall Of Fame induction dinner in October to support Margie when she is inducted.

Jean Foreman, chair of the Cliff School Committee reported that the Cliff School will be open to the public on the third Saturday of May, June, July, August, September and October from 1pm until 4 pm. Members of the KCRSPA will serve as docents along with members of the Port of Chester Questers. Jean also reported that several members of the KCRSPA helped with the spring cleanup at the Cliff School. Sue and Franny Schauber donated mulch to apply to the flower beds.

Fay Miller, membership chair, reported that KCRSPA is holding its own in membership. There will be eleven potential new members this year.

President Nancy Harrington distributed a list of the many recent accomplishments of KCRSPA. These will be posted on our website.

Betty Barbe, chair of the Legislative Committee, reported that Delegate Jay Jacobs will be attending our October meeting. If any of us has a question for Delegate Jacobs, he/she should e-mail his/her question to Terri Mullikin at <a href="mailto:rockhallpixie@verizon.net">rockhallpixie@verizon.net</a>. She will get your question to Delegate Jacobs so that he will be able to research the topic before the meeting. Betty recommended that we all "do our homework" and do research on all of the candidates, particularly the gubernatorial candidates, before the June 24 primary.

Vice-president Barbara Wheeler reported that she is working with William Ambrose to help our organization to develop a website. She will be posting links to other sites of interest, our list of accomplishments, and these minutes to the website. The website may be found at kcrspa.org@live.org.

Stuart Tucker, President of the MRSPA, spoke. He thanked us for our continued membership and explained why the annual meeting was changed to one day this year.

Max Muller spoke about the political clout of the MRSPA and about its advocacy role in Maryland politics. He mentioned that his agenda for his tenure as president will be to redesign the website to promote ease of use, to promote member engagement, to help those in leadership positions at the local level, and to work hard to protect our pensions. Max distributed a list of people who have unclaimed money in the pension system in hopes that we may know and be able to contact these people.

Judith Zahren reported that the MRSPA will interview the winners of the June 24 primary election and that the questions asked of and the answers given by the candidates will be published by MRSPA.

President Nancy Harrington reported that there will be an end of the year party at the Harbor Shack in Rock Hall on June 19 at 4 pm. Members of the KCRSPA are invited. Teachers and retired teachers will receive two free drink tickets. All were advised to have a designated driver, if they plan to drink.

At the end of the meeting, many centerpieces were won by ticketholders and Sue Schauber won the 50/50 raffle. She donated half of her winnings to the scholarship fund. Bonnie Smith and Emily Massey did a wonderful job of decorating and conducting the raffle. The centerpieces were beautiful and included American flags in commemoration of Memorial Day, Flag Day, the 70<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of D-Day and July 4<sup>th</sup>.

Respectfully submitted,

Terri Bostic, Recording Secretary